Google Image Search results redirect to Browlock ransomware
Posted on 23.05.2014
Browlock is the most basic approach to ransomware there is: there is no actual malware that blocks the victims' computer or encrypts its contents, there is only a Web page, with JavaScript tricks that prevent users from closing a browser tab or the browser altogether.

Nevertheless, users fall for the scheme in droves, as they are unable to find ways to remove the warning notice that says that they have been visiting illegal pornographic websites.

The attackers usually use malvertising to lead users to the pages sporting the notice, but there are other approaches as well.

Malwarebytes' Chris Boyd warns users searching for Telltale’s Back to the Future game via Google Search - specifically, via its image search - that they might inadvertently land on a compromised website and get redirected to a Browlock scam page (click on the screenshot to enlarge it):

"Once the box is on the screen, there is no way to open another tab or indeed navigate to one that is already open. For similar reasons, you won’t be able to close the browser either. The browser is trapped in a loop of confirmation pop-up boxes and our old friend CTRL+ALT+DEL will be required to kill the browser in Task Manager," says Boyd.

The good news is that your computer has not been infected, and after you have killed the browser, you can open it once again and continue doing what you were doing.


Credential manager system used by Cisco, IBM, F5 has been breached

Pearson VUE is part of Pearson, the world's largest learning company. Over 450 credential owners (including IT organizations such as IBM, Adobe, etc.) across the globe use the company's solutions to develop, manage, deliver and grow their testing programs.

Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.

Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.

Wed, Nov 25th