The latest of these scams has been hitting the Walls of compromised accounts with posts containing a thumbnail suggesting a link to a sex video, accompanied with the following message: "[Video] WOW.. watch what Happened to his Ex Girlfriend!! [LINK] Omg. I cant believe this actually happened to his Ex-Girlfreind!"
According to Sophos, friends of the user whose compromised account posted the message have also been named in it, assuring that at least some of them will surely check out the message.
Those that follow the link are asked to install a "Divx plugin" in order to see the video - which, by the way, is not even the same video they wanted to see:
Unfortunately, the "YouTube Extension" they end up installing can access their data on all websites, and the scammers misuse the fact to post the aforementioned offending message on their Facebook accounts.
And, for good measure, they send the users to a site where they are told they need to complete the survey to watch the video. Needless to say, there is no video, and they have been duped into making money for the scammers.
By subscribing to our early morning news update, you will receive a daily digest of the latest security news published on Help Net Security.
With over 500 issues so far, reading our newsletter every Monday morning will keep you up-to-date with security risks out there.