“Your Photos Are being Used” phishing scam targeting Facebook users
Posted on 13 May 2014.
Another day, another Facebook phishing scam. This one comes in the form of a warning sent by a friend: "OMG YOUR PHOTOS ARE BEING USED ON THIS SITE."

The victim, worried that their photos are being used for something unsavory (e.g. promoting an adult content website) follow the link and land on a bizarre Tumblr spam blog, but are almost immediately redirected via JavaScript to a fake Facebook login page.

They are instructed to log into the social network in order to see the page (and the photos), but those that do will only forward their login credentials to the criminals behind the scheme.

"Any urgent-sounding messages sent your way which suggest imminent personal embarrassment of some description should be treated with healthy skepticism," TEXTinstructs Malwarebytes' Chris Boyd.

If you have fallen for this or a similar scam, change your password immediately. If your account has already been hijacked, report the fact and let Facebook help you regain control of it.









Spotlight

Whitepaper: 10 things your next firewall must do

For enterprises looking at Next-Generation Firewalls, the most important consideration is: will this new technology empower your security teams to securely enable applications to the benefit of the organization? It's not about blocking applications, but safely enabling them.


Weekly newsletter

Reading our newsletter every Monday will keep you up-to-date with security news.
  



Daily digest

Receive a daily digest of the latest security news.
  
DON'T
MISS

Fri, May 29th
    COPYRIGHT 1998-2015 BY HELP NET SECURITY.   // READ OUR PRIVACY POLICY // ABOUT US // ADVERTISE //